top of page

The Enneagram Mom Podcast

I’m so excited to get started with this podcast. I learned about enneagrams a year ago and it really hit home over the last couple of months when I figured out my husband’s enneagram type. Knowing his type changed our marriage. It helped me understand how he sees the world through his enneagram.

I am an Enneagram 3w2, my husband a 8w9 and 5 year old son is a 7w8.

To start, I want to give some basic information regarding the enneagram. First off how it’s pronounced… which is enn-e-a-gram. If you pronounce it differently that’s ok. Enne means nine and gram means sides. The enneagram is a system of personality typing that describes patterns in how people interrupt the world and manage their emotions. It has nine 9 different personality points types and maps each type with a 9 pointed diagram which helps to illustrate how the types relate one to another. Everyone belongs to one of the nine enneagram types.

The purpose of the enneagram is to identify strengths and limitations of a preferred strategy and to give guidance on how to develop more capacity beyond it.

My motivation for learning more about enneagram is that I wanted to understand how other people’s brains work because other people are different than me. It helped me with my need to understand people on a different level. Like I said before knowing my husband’s type helped change my marriage. It helps me understand my husband and his behaviors. Knowing my son’s enneagram type has also helped me with my son. Now typing other people is not 100% but knowing the different enneagram types will help you notice specific behaviors in others.

Once you know your enneagram and the enneagram of those around you can easily decipher how people are motivated, how they are when they are stress, and how they are when they are trying to achieve something and you can understand them on a deeper level.

The main way to know your type is if the desire and motivation behind that type matches you. You can only be one type of enneagram and your enneagram does not change. When you are growing up you have a bit of nature and nurture but by the age of 5 you are really set in your enneagram type. When you are in stress, your behaviors will change but your type does not change.

Other terminology of the enneagram is a wing. The wings are the numbers that are directly to the sides of the enneagram type. I’m a enneagram 3 with a wing 2. This means I pick up traits from enneagram 2. You can also be with open wings. This means you pick up traits from the enneagram types on both sides of your own.

Each enneagram type has a specific name for it. There is NO bad enneagram…every type has amazing traits and every type has negative traits.

One: reformer

Two: giver

Three: achiever

Four: individualist

Five: observer

Six: loyalist

Seven: enthusiast

Eight: protector

Nine: peacemaker

I’m so excited to talk about each of the enneagram types and the next episode will be on enneagram one, I will go in depth including references from pop culture.

Remember to subscribe to the podcast and well as leave a review on the podcast platform you listen on. You can also find me on Instagram at


The Enneagram Mom Podcast.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My name is Tess and avid binge show watcher, enneagram enthusiast and 3w2!

The enneagram is a unique way to help you connect with yourself on a deeper level. I love what it has done for my marriage, relationship with my children and the people I work with. I can’t wait to dive in deep to all things enneagram!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • RSS
  • Pinterest
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page